Jessica Buxton

Just another WordPress.com site

Blogging through the Alphabet – Q January 8, 2014

I’m back!! After falling off the blogging wagon I’m back at it 🙂 so here is me picking up where I left off 🙂

Q is for Questioning God

Do you ever have those moments when you wonder “why me?” Or “why haven’t you answered my prayers?” Or even “why on earth am I here?”

I have had those moments and the only thing I can do is look back at how God has provided for me and how his plans have worked out so much better then the plans I made for myself. You know everyone loves to use the verse in Jeremiah as a good one when you are questioning God because he says “For I know the plans I have for you declares, The Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” And I like that verse but there are a few others that make me think about why I am questioning God like when I read, “Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, The days fashioned for me, When as yet there were none of them.” (Psalms 139:16). It’s all in his book so why do I think I know better then Him. It’s like when my 3 year old tells me he is going to run around the house with his socks on (we have marble floors in our house which make for good occasions to slip and fall flat on your face) and I tell him that he shouldn’t do that because I know more then he does about socks on marble floors and slipping.

Or what about when Jesus said: Are not two sparrows sold for a copper coin? And not one of them falls to the ground apart from your Father’s will. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows. (Matthew 10:29-31)
You know after having both my sons my hair fell out and in like big clumps and so much that I thought I might have a bald spot but even with all of that going on God knows the exact number of hairs on my head…have you ever tried to count the strands of hair on your head? I tried once when I was a kid and I remember giving up not too far into it because I knew I could never get an exact count but if God knows the exact number of hairs on my head don’t you think I could get it through my head that I don’t need to question God.

This the God who created everything and I’m going to sit here and say “man God I can’t believe you didn’t do this for me” really! Please don’t get me wrong I’m not trying to judge you I’m just putting my feelings down. I wonder at the way my son talks to me sometimes so defiant and demanding, I wonder if that’s how we sound to God? Or maybe like when my son asks me why about everything under the sun. Do I sound like that broken record saying why, why, why all the time instead of saying you know what God I trust you to do what’s best for me even if it is painful or challenging or even frustrating.

One of my most favorite verses that I turn to is “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6)”
God gives us specific instructions to trust in The Lord and not to lean on our own understanding…wow that’s like a slap in the face. Like God saying “wake up Jessi you don’t know as much as you think.”

So I guess if you’ve been questioning God lately you need to go back to the basics…Trust in The Lord. I have to do that on a regular basis.

Jessi

Also check out these other ladies who are blogging through the alphabet with me

 

Leave a Reply

