Jessica Buxton

Just another WordPress.com site

Blogging through the Alphabet – M October 13, 2013

M is for Me

I have a great tendency to be very selfish. I think it’s one of my biggest pitfalls…the way I get pulled away from God the fastest. I want to see what everyone is doing on Facebook before I do my devotions which usually means I eat into my time with God instead of putting God first at the beginning of my day.

I want to spend time reading My books, instead of reading to my boys. I don’t like chicken and dumplings so I never fix it for my husband (even though he loves it). Talk about selfish….as I looked over my last week there is one big thing I noticed…I put myself first before my family on a regular basis. I was actually kinda surprised at how much I put myself before others…I am a selfish person, and the whole time I was walking around thinking I’m a pretty good mom and wife and friend (can you guess what a close second Pride was on the list of daily sins).

So my goal for this next week is to focus more on others, and most importantly God then my husband and sons.

And I know this is a regular battle I’m going to have to fight but I have the most powerful person on the planet on my side to help me win, if I look to Him, and that is God. I know I will fail, but I also know there will be love and forgiveness when I turn to God and say I really missed it this time…it’s nice to know that Christ’s love for us is unconditional.

What are you biggest pitfalls and how do you plan to over come them?

Check out these other blogs that I’m blogging thought the alphabet with…

Jessi

 

2 Responses to “Blogging through the Alphabet – M”

  1. jess–
    thanks for being so brutally honest…praying for you and your goal this week!! I blessed by your transparency–and challenged!!


Leave a Reply

