Jessica Buxton

Just another WordPress.com site

My Fabric High Chair! August 26, 2013

Filed under: Baby,Family,Motherhood,Sewing — jbuxton @ 6:50 pm
Tags: ,

This is one of my most read posts so I thought I would re-post it…so here you go the Fabric Highchair…I’ve also found this useful for shopping carts, it helps my almost sitter to sit up in the cart or even a new sitter to keep his balance while you roll him around in the cart…

Yesterday I started on my notion that I could make a fabric high chair even though this would have only been my like 5th time using my sewing machine that I got for Christmas. So I took some photos as I was making this high chair. Here is how I started, well not really I went online and found a pattern and then I went to Hobby Lobby (which I love by the way) and bought some fabric and batting (fyi I just started sewing 2 weeks ago so I still have to build up my supplies). So after that I cut out my pieces of fabric and batting.

Then I sewed them together and turned them right side out 🙂

I then sewed all the parts together and started to add the velcro when my sewing machine (which is not really made for big projects) started to give me trouble. I have a crafting sewing machine not a real one.

As you can see I only have one piece of velcro attached completely before my little sewing machine gave out on me (you can see it in the corner). So I called up my mother in law who so graciously let me come to her house and use her sewing machine to finish my project.

Then I had to test it out on the little one 🙂

I think he likes it. And it will come in handy for our upcoming travel, also way better then trying to take his bumbo everywhere. I’m super excited that I got it made. Let me know what you think… I got my pattern from this site: http://whrrl.com/experience/story/18668492?wref=person_show_card

If you have any questions or comments let me know and if you have any other ideas of things I should try and make let me know I would love to hear your ideas!

 

3 Responses to “My Fabric High Chair!”

  1. bookofmohs Says:

    Very creative 🙂


Leave a Reply

