Jessica Buxton

Just another WordPress.com site

Blogging through the Alphabet – H August 22, 2013

Filed under: ABCs,Family,home,Life Experiences — jbuxton @ 4:45 am
Tags: , , , ,

H is for Home

Home is not a building for me and after what has happened a couple of days ago this was reaffirmed for me. On Monday morning we woke up to lots and lots of rain so much rain that we were scared our house was going to flood and the forecast said we were going to get even more and that many houses had already flooded. It was around this time last year that our house flooded because of all the rain that had come through.

We pretty much were trapped in our house for 3 days and thankfully I had gone to the store recently so we had food and a crockpot to cook food in :). We made it through but I never wanted to do that again. So this year when the possibility of our house flooding happened again we moved all of our things upstairs and it our appliances up on tires and left the house for my moms house which is on higher ground.

After we went through all that I was reminded that my home isn’t my things or the house I live in but the people I share it with. My boys and my husband make up my home and it doesn’t matter where or how we live but that we remember its not all about the things that fill the house we live in but the people that we share it with.

I’m hoping it doesn’t take something as drastic as my house almost flooding again to remind me of that.

Please check out the other blogs that I am blogging with as we blog through the alphabet…

Jessi

P.S.
our house did not get flooded this time but the waters did come about 1/2 way up our driveway.

 

Leave a Reply

