Jessica Buxton

Just another WordPress.com site

Blogging through the Alphabet – A June 27, 2013

Filed under: ABCs,Family,Spiritual Truthes — jbuxton @ 7:00 pm
Tags: ,

Attention.

20130617-170543.jpg

My kids long for my attention all the time. It feels like the minute I turn my attention from them they are trying to get my attention again. I can’t catch a break.

Isn’t it funny though, when it comes to our Heavenly Father we tell him we don’t need his attention. I find myself telling him that I’m all right and I don’t need his help right now. When really I don’t want the attention drawn to my short comings or all the ways I fail him on a regular basis. When really I should be dying for a second of His attention even though, I may be corrected in the process. But if I am spending lots of time with my Heavenly Father I shouldn’t be so upset with the small corrections that I get in the large amount of time that I’m spending with him. You see the more time you spend with someone the closer you feel to them and the more likely you are to listen to their corrections.

So as much as my kids need my attention I also need attention from my Father.

I struggle as a mom when my kids are dying for my attention I feel like I have very little time for myself. I have been working to get up at least an hour before my rowdy boys get up so I can spend time with my Heavenly Father, who wants to shower me with his attention. I get my fill of his attention which helps carry me through the day with my two boys who are always trying to keep my attention. I can go back to the time I spent with Him in the morning if my day feels like more then I can handle.

When do you take time to get your attention fill from God?

Jessi

 

2 Responses to “Blogging through the Alphabet – A”

  1. Wonderful post! And so true!

  2. It can be difficult to find that time with the Lord when you have small children. I’ve found that, unless I do it first thing in the morning, the busy-ness that is my life works its way into every nook and cranny of my day until I fall into bed, with no time with the Lord.


Leave a Reply

