Jessica Buxton

Just another WordPress.com site

The Arrival of Reece my son August 3, 2010

Filed under: Family,Life Experiences,Motherhood — jbuxton @ 3:42 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Maurice Reginald Buxton IV (Reece) made his grand arrival on Sunday July 18, 2010 @ 2:53pm.  It was an interesting day considering that I woke up around 3am with contractions and didn’t go to the hospital till around 7am.  My contractions were about 2 mins apart when we left for the hospital and they were very strong.  I was in labor for a good 7 hours when the doctor came in to check my progress and said that I hadn’t progressed at all and that Reece would not tolerate labor so they were going to do a c-section.  Just a little side note, the last thing I wanted to have to do was have a c-section because I knew the recovery time was pretty long and I had never had a major surgery before and it scared me.  Back to the story, within about 5 mins of the doctor telling me that I was being rolled into a operating room.  They told Marc to wait outside while they got me all ready for surgery which scared me even more because I didn’t want to be alone.  Finally they brought Marc in and within about a min of him coming in and sitting next to me Reece was born.  I tell you all this so you can understand what I’ve learned from this experience.  First I learned things aren’t going to go as I plan them.  I’ve known this all my life but it was like a slap in the face on July 18 when I was being rolled into the operating room.  But I do know this that everything went according to God’s plan and I am so thankful that both Reece and I are fine.  Secondly I learned that it doesn’t matter how your child makes it into this world he is just as special and still such a blessing from God.  It didn’t matter that I had a c-section or that I’m still recovering from it because everytime I see my son and hold him I forget about all of that.  Lastly I realized that my husband is an amazing man!  He put up with my tears and helped me in so many ways while I was in the hospital and even now that we are back home.  He is truly a blessing from God.  I love both the men in my life and I am so blessed to have both of them.  These are just a few of the things I have learned since my son was born.

 

Leave a Reply

