Jessica Buxton

Just another WordPress.com site

My motherhood experience so far… June 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jbuxton @ 9:28 pm

I’ve been thinking alot about my pregnancy these last few days.  And to be honest its hard not to when I have what looks like a basketball under my shirt in place of where my little tummy used to be.  I am so very excited about this little blessing that God has given us and his arrival in a few short weeks.  When I thought I was pregnant I wasn’t too sure what to think and I wasn’t too sure how to tell marc.  We were in California at the time at Abound Missionary Workshop which is a workshop that helps missionaries better present their vision and better our speaking skills.  It was hard to write a speech every afternoon with my mind wondering if I was really pregnant and how I was supposed to tell my husband.  So I waited until the end of the week at the workshop the night before we would all leave and I broke the news to marc.  I hadn’t taken a pregnancy test yet so I wasn’t for sure but I was still pretty sure.  Well the next day we were scheduled to meet with some pastors and then go to a football game for a missions conference we were invited to for that weekend.  So needless to say we didn’t actually find out for sure until about 10 or 11 that night (this was saturday Nov. 14, 2009).    Well then our lives began to get more interesting.  All sorts of questions were on the table with no answer in sight like, When should we tell our families, what doctor should I go see,  where were we going to get the money for the new addition to our family,  how should we tell our families, and many other questions.  Well we chose a doctor and went to see him to confirm again that we were going to be having a little baby on July 13.  Then we had decided when to tell our families.  We decided to wait for awhile just incase I miscarried because we knew the likelyness of miscarriage is high.  So on Friday Dec. 4 we told my family that I was expecting and then that Sunday Dec. 6 we told Marc’s family over sunday lunch.   Everyone was very excited and I think Marc and I were still quite nervous about being parents.  The months flew by and we found out that we were going to be having a little boy and decided that his name would be Maurice Reginald Buxton IV (Reece).  We continued to prepare by reading as many books as we could and gleening any advice we received.  Well today I am 35 weeks and 4 days.  And still very nervous about being a mom but I’ve always wanted to be a mommy since I was like 10.  But I am also very excited about being a mom.  God has truly blessed us and I haven’t even met my little boy but I know that he is a gift from God and I’m not taking that forgranted.  As I’ve carried this active little boy these last few months and I’ve been getting all his things ready my thoughts started going to my mom.  LuAnn Lyons is an amazing woman and if you have had the chance to spend some time with her you would agree.  Any woman who can raise 6 children on a mission field and do everything else that she does deserve a great deal of honor.  My mom has been my bestfriend for a long time and I love spending time with her.  She has a great sense of humor and has great Godly insight.  She is whitty and thoughtful.  She is extremly caring and very honest.  She is the glue that holds our family together and the one that keeps us all sane.  My mom is the best woman I know and I am so very thankful for the example that she has set for me on how to be a mom.  I have watched the best in action and she is amazing!  So I guess I’m just hoping that I can be a great mom just like my mom.  I hope that I can be a living example of God’s love to my children just like my mom was to us.  I hope that I can laugh with my kids and cry with them just like I have with my mom.  She is one of my dearest friends and I am always asking for her advice. So in closing I guess I just want to thank my mom for being amazing and putting up with me all the time so I could learn from you about how to be an amazing mom.

 

One Response to “My motherhood experience so far…”

  1. Jessie Says:

    Aww what a great post! You are going to be a fantastic mother!


Leave a Reply

