Jessica Buxton

Just another WordPress.com site

A Woman and Her God (Part 2) June 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jbuxton @ 2:36 pm

The most recent chapter I read was titled ‘Does God Deserve our Trust?’ by Beverly LaHaye & Lori LaHaye Scheck

Its hard to trust God sometimes and this chapter challenged me to make sure I’m putting all my trust in God.  Lori said in one segment “A God-box is created when we have an overinflated view of who we are and an underinflated view of who God is.”  What a true statement. We tend to think so much of ourselves and not so much of God.  There have been so many times that I have made a “God-box” and I was so wrong about God and how big He is.  Lori also said “It [a God-box] is created when we do not adequately trust God to be God and to work out His will in His way and in His time.”  I always am asking God do something in a certain time frame and not trusting that He will take care of everything in HIS time.  My time is so different than God’s time and I should be able to trust Him to do everything in His perfect time. 

What about these verses from Romans 9:20-21:  “But indeed, O man, who are you to reply against God?  Will the thing formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why have you made me like this?’  Does not the potter have power over the clay, from the same lump to make one vessel for honor and another for dishonor?”

How can I say to God you need to do something for me in my time so I will be happy.  How childish do we sound to God when we demand or even ‘ask nicely’ for God to do something for us.  Isn’t he the one who created the whole world in 6 days?  I know He can take care of all of my needs in His perfect time.  Now this doesn’t mean that we can just ask God for something and then sit back and do nothing until God does what we want.  Beverly put it this way, “…trusting God does not absolve us of our own responsibility and common sense.  There’s an old saying that says something like, ‘Definitely pray, but keep on rowing.'”  So I am still responsible for myself even though God may not have given me an answer yet.  Its easy to just say well I dont know what God wants for me and I’ve been praying about it and still nothing so I’m just going to do nothing until I get an answer.  Now somethings yes you do just have to wait on God to answer you but most of the time in waiting for God to answer us we drop the ball on everything else like doing our devotions or even just talking with God about everything else that is going on. 

So what about when bad things happen?  Thats always one of my questions and how do I know that even through the bad things in life I can trust God?  Beverly makes this argument, ” God loves us and wants us to have an abundant life.  Yes, sometimes He does allow difficult circumstances to come into our lives, but that doesn’t change who God is or how much He cares about us.  Some of the difficulties we experience are of our own making, yet we still manage to blame God for them.”  I know there have been many times where I felt like God wasn’t responding fast enough so I just went ahead and made a decision and boy should I have waited for God’s timing because in hind sight I can see there was something way better that God had planned for me if only I would have put my trust in him.  Alot of the time the difficult situations that I’m going through are my own doing because I jumped the gun but other times God wants us to go through difficult circumstantces to shape us into the person He wants us to be or to teach us an important lesson.

Just want to end with a few verses: Isaiah 55:8-9 ” ‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neigher are your ways my ways,’ declares the Lord. ‘As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughs.'”

Psalm 91:1-2 “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the Lord, ‘He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.'” 

My desire is to learn to trust God more and at this time in my life trusting God plays a huge part.  I am 8 months pregnant with my first child.  God has blessed my husband and I with a little boy who will be making his grand arrival soon in like 5 weeks soon.  And all I can think about after reading that chapter is how I dont need to worry about whether my little boy is going to be healthy or whether there will be any complications during delivery because God is in control and I just need to trust Him to have everything just the way He planned it to be.  Marc and I are also missionaries and so I have to make sure to rely on God for everything that we need.  We travel around to churches and ask them to partner with us and our ministry so we can go to the Philippines and share the gospel with Filipinos.  That takes alot of faith and trust in God to provide all of our income so we can do His work there in the Philippines.  Its not easy to do but knowing that God’s ways and thoughts are higher than mine gives me a peace.  I love to claim the verse Jeremiah 29:11 ” For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

 

Leave a Reply

