Jessica Buxton

Just another WordPress.com site

A Woman and Her God June 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jbuxton @ 3:51 pm

I’m reading this book called ‘A Woman and Her God’ and I have been enjoying some of the insights from all the different authors who have chapters in this book.  

The last chapter I read was titled A Womans Role: Ministering like Jesus  By Jill Briscoe

So here are some of the things that I have picked out of this chapter and from this specific author.

Jill says on page 34 “The problem is, if we become comfortable in our faith, we tend to become self-satisfied and then we don’t even care if the world’s gone to hell in a handbasket.  We have no vision and certainly no passion.”  This statement hit me pretty hard because I have had no vison or passion in my life because I had become ok with being a christian who wasn’t sharing my faith with anyone or doing anything to help grow the kingdom of God.  So this is more a challenge to myself than to others to not become “comfortable” in my faith but to always be reaching out to someone.

The second statement that caught my heart was “This is our Father’s world that broke our Father’s heart, but our Father wants it back and He’s going to use us to do it.”  I want to be used by God to bring back his world to him.  How cool is it to think that God is going to use me a 22 year old woman to help bring the world back to him.  I love that I can be used by God even though I have made mistakes and even though I get caught up in my life and what I want.  God always has a way of bringing me back to him and reminding me that He has a purpose for my life.  And I dont want to do anything to hinder that from happening so I keep coming back to Him and asking him to forgive me.  The best part is He loves me so much that He will forgive me when I come to him with a true heart of repentance.  How awesome is God!

Lastly a verse to think about

“Stand firm. Let nothing move you . Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.”  1 Corinthians 15:58

 

Leave a Reply

